Miele canister vacuum review: The 4 Best Miele Vacuums of 2023: Reviews

The 4 Best Miele Vacuums of 2023: Reviews

  1. Table of Contents
  2. Intro
  3. Review Updates
  4. Best Vacuum
  5. Best Mid-Range
  6. Best Budget
  7. Best Cordless
  8. Comparison
  9. Lineup
  10. Page Updates
  11. Conclusion
  12. Discussions

Updated Jul 19, 2023 at 08:57 am

By Evan Jakab

Miele is a German manufacturer specializing in high-end household appliances, including everything from refrigerators to washing machines, not to mention cooktop ranges and coffee machines. Miele vacuums are well-renowned for their premium build quality, strong performance on a wide variety of surfaces, and general ease of maintenance.

Updates

  • 07/22/2022

    Miele Classic C1 updated

  • 12/22/2020

    Miele Triflex HX1 reviewed

  • 09/11/2020

    Miele Complete C3 reviewed

  • 09/09/2020

    Miele Dynamic U1 PowerLine reviewed

Best Miele Vacuums

  1. Best Miele Vacuum

    Miele Complete C3 Brilliant PowerLine

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Bare Floor

    8. 6

    Low-Pile Carpet

    8.2

    High-Pile Carpet

    8.3

    Pets

    8.2

    Stairs

    8.3

    Cars

    8.1

    Workshop

    6.2

    Vacuum Type

    Canister

    Bagless

    No

    Cordless

    No

    Anti-Allergy Filter (HEPA)

    Yes

    Wet Compatible

    No

    See all our test results

    The best Miele vacuum that we’ve tested is the Miele Complete C3. Regardless of your variant, all Miele C3 models deliver exceptional debris pickup on different floor types, thanks to a potent 1200W motor and variable suction control. Build quality is also fantastic; all C3 models have an allergen-sealed body. However, going for the flagship C3 Brilliant model also nets you many convenience features, like an automatic suction adjustment setting that responds to changes in the surface type, handle-mounted controls, a HEPA-rated post-motor filter, and additional sound insulation for its motor, which is already very quiet, to begin with.

    The Brilliant comes with a trio of floorheads: an extra wide parquet tool for easily-scratched floors, a universal pure suction floorhead with retractable bristles intended for hard floors and low-pile carpet, and Miele’s SEB 236 height-adjustable powerhead, so you can clean everything from hardwood to plush carpeting with ease.

    Unfortunately, all of this comes at a very high cost. If you don’t mind missing out on the C3 Brilliant’s additional convenience features and don’t need the multi-surface pure suction floorhead, a cheaper C3 model like the C3 Kona will deliver similar overall performance on most surfaces.

    See our review

  2. Best Mid-Range Miele Vacuum

    Miele Classic C1 Cat&Dog PowerLine

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Bare Floor

    8.5

    Low-Pile Carpet

    8.0

    High-Pile Carpet

    8.1

    Pets

    8.0

    Stairs

    8.0

    Cars

    8.1

    Workshop

    6.0

    Vacuum Type

    Canister

    Bagless

    No

    Cordless

    No

    Anti-Allergy Filter (HEPA)

    No

    Wet Compatible

    No

    See all our test results

    If you aren’t comfortable spending as much on a vacuum and want a marginally smaller footprint, the Miele Classic C1 Cat & Dog PowerLine is a fantastic choice. Right off the bat, it’s important to note that there are a few sacrifices you’ll have to make to justify the C1’s cheaper price point in comparison to the Miele Complete C3; inferior build quality, no integrated tool storage compartment, and a shorter power cord. It also doesn’t have the C3 Brilliant’s handle-mounted controls or automatic power adjustment settings. However, all C1s have the same 1200W suction motor, producing similarly fantastic debris pickup performance.

    This C1 Cat & Dog variant sits near the top of the C1 lineup and is correspondingly well-equipped in terms of attachments, as it comes with a parquet tool for hard floors as well as the SEB 228 height-adjustable powerhead for cleaning thick carpets – the latter isn’t as sleek as the C3 Brilliant’s SEB 236 head and lacks an LED headlight. Still, there’s little to distinguish the two floorheads regarding actual performance. This variant also comes with a miniature turbo brush tool and a post-motor filter with activated charcoal to minimize unpleasant odors as you clean.

    See our review

  3. Best Budget Miele Vacuum

    Miele Classic C1 Pure Suction PowerLine

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Bare Floor

    8.5

    Low-Pile Carpet

    8.0

    High-Pile Carpet

    8.1

    Pets

    8.0

    Stairs

    8.0

    Cars

    8.1

    Workshop

    6.0

    Vacuum Type

    Canister

    Bagless

    No

    Cordless

    No

    Anti-Allergy Filter (HEPA)

    No

    Wet Compatible

    No

    See all our test results

    The best Miele vacuum cleaner we’ve tested at a budget-friendly price is the Miele Classic C1 Pure Suction PowerLine. Of course, ‘budget’ is a relative term for Miele, whose products are pricey. That said, the fact remains that this entry-level C1 variant is considerably less expensive than almost every other model the manufacturer offers. There’s a compromise to be made, however; unlike the outwardly similar C1 Cat & Dog, the C1 Pure Suction doesn’t have a power socket at the base of its hose, meaning it’s completely incompatible with powered floorheads. This won’t be an issue if you only have bare floors or very low-pile carpeting in your home. Still, it does mean that you’ll have to go for the pricier model variants if you have a lot of thick rugs to clean and need the surface agitation that only a powerhead can provide.

    Like most Miele vacuums, it’s also remarkably easy to maintain, and maneuverability is great. Its power cord and hose are short, so you might need to swap outlets when cleaning larger rooms. In addition, the C1 Pure Suction model doesn’t come with a HEPA-rated post-motor filter as standard, though air filtration performance is still superb thanks to its allergen-sealed body. Besides, you can always purchase a HEPA-rated filter from the manufacturer if you need that additional air filtration performance.

    See our review

  4. Best Cordless Miele Vacuum

    Miele Triflex HX1

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Searching

    Finding Store

    Bare Floor

    8.3

    Low-Pile Carpet

    8.0

    High-Pile Carpet

    7.7

    Pets

    7.4

    Stairs

    8.5

    Cars

    7.7

    Workshop

    5. 6

    Vacuum Type

    Stick/Handheld

    Bagless

    Yes

    Cordless

    Yes

    Anti-Allergy Filter (HEPA)

    No

    Wet Compatible

    No

    See all our test results

    The best Miele vacuum cleaner with a cordless design that we’ve tested is the Miele Triflex HX1. It doesn’t feel as robust as the brand’s traditional canister models like the Miele Complete C3 Brilliant PowerLine and doesn’t offer the same level of air filtration performance as a result of its bagless design, but it’s much easier to grab and use for shorter cleanups. It delivers remarkable performance on bare surfaces and does a great job dealing with pet hair and solid debris on carpet.

    Its surface detection system lets it automatically select the optimal brush power for a given floor type or even stop the brushroll if something gets caught in the floorhead. This makes it surprisingly easy to maneuver on thick carpeting despite the lack of floorhead height adjustment. You can use it as an upright, stick, or handheld vacuum by removing or rearranging the position of the motor unit, floorhead, and wand.

    Unfortunately, this vacuum’s maximum battery life of roughly half an hour isn’t very long, so you’ll have to work fast when cleaning larger rooms. Its dirt compartment is small, so it needs regular emptying. This basic variant only comes with a dusting brush, crevice tool, and upholstery tool; you need to upgrade to the more expensive ‘Cat & Dog’ variant if you want a turbo brush attachment and a filter with a HEPA rating. That said, the standard filter is rated as able to trap 99.98% of fine particulate matter, which will be more than sufficient for most people without serious allergies.

    See our review

Compared to other brands

  • Excellent build quality.
    Most Miele vacuums are made of high-end materials that make them feel far more durable than many of their peers.
  • Good overall performance.
    Miele vacuums offer strong and consistent cleaning on various surfaces, including hardwood floors and low and high-pile carpet.
  • Easy to maintain.
    Miele vacuums tend to have fewer parts that require regular maintenance than many other alternatives, which are also easy to access or replace.
  • Thoughtful quality of life features.
    Even basic Miele vacuums have features that help simplify vacuuming, like multi-level suction power adjustment, automatic power cord retraction, and onboard storage for tools and accessories.
  • Small number of attachments on some models.
    While you can purchase a wide variety of extra attachments and floorheads from the manufacturer, many Miele vacuums come with very few attachments in the box.
  • Expensive.
    As befitting their premium status, Miele vacuums tend to be fairly pricey.
  • High recurring costs for some models.
    Many Miele vacuums use bagged designs. They have dirtbags and filters that need regular replacing, usually at a higher cost than other bagged vacuums.

Miele vs Dyson

While Miele and Dyson’s vacuums tend to occupy a similar premium price point, their offerings target different uses. Dyson specializes in lightweight cordless vacuums with a broad attachment set, while Miele focuses mainly on better-built canister models that are a superior option for longer cleaning sessions. You can see our recommendations for the best Dyson vacuums.

Miele vs SEBO

SEBO and Miele are both high-end German marques specializing in durable, high-performance vacuums. SEBO’s offerings focus more on ease of maintenance and lower ownership costs, while Miele vacuums are usually sleeker in design and tend to be a little easier to use. Availability is a point in Miele’s favor, with many of their models being available at most big-box retailers, while a lot of SEBOs can only be purchased directly from the manufacturer or specialized vacuum stores.

Miele offers a wide range of vacuum cleaners, though their canister lineup is the broadest. Miele vacuums are usually easier to maintain and have far more quality-of-life features than most Shark or BISSELL vacuums. They also deliver similarly strong performance on a variety of surfaces compared to alternatives from other high-end brands like Dyson and feel much better built, but their selection of included attachments tends to be a lot smaller.

You can also check out our recommendations for the best Shark and BISSELL vacuums separately.

Lineup

Miele has a diverse lineup of vacuums, and their naming convention can sometimes be confusing.

Canister Models

  • Miele Classic C1 Lineup: Entry to mid-level bagged canister vacuums.
  • Miele Compact C1 Lineup: Smaller entry to mid-level bagged canister vacuums.
  • Miele Boost CX1 Lineup: Compact mid-range bagless canister vacuums.
  • Miele Blizzard CX1 Lineup: Mid to high-end bagless canister vacuums.
  • Miele Complete C3 Lineup: High-end bagged canister vacuums.

 Cordless Stick Models

  • Triflex HX1 Lineup: Cordless vacuums that you can configure as a handheld, upright, or stick vacuum.

Robot Models

  • Scout RX2: Premium robot vacuum cleaner.

Common Trim/Equipment Levels

  • Pure Suction: Vacuums with floorheads that use straight suction to suck up debris, rather than air or motor-driven brushrolls, mainly for use on bare floors.
  • Turbo Team: Vacuums with air-driven brushroll floorheads for use on carpets.
  • HomeCare: Mid-level vacuum variants, usually bundled with both a straight suction floorhead and a floorhead with an air-driven brushroll. They usually come with an electrobrush socket that allows for a motorized floorhead if you purchase one and a couple of additional handheld brushes. Usually only available for purchase from specialized vacuum retailers.
  • Cat & Dog: Mid-level vacuum variants are usually bundled with a handheld turbo brush for dealing with pet hair and an ‘Active Air’ charcoal filter for reducing odor.

Some of these trims are only available on some models or have slightly differing accessories bundled in the box, while others have specific designations that aren’t noted here.

Recent Updates

  1. Jul 19, 2023:
    Minor in-text adjustments to better communicate product details.

  2. Apr 24, 2023:
    Added Miele Classic C1 Cat & Dog PowerLine as the new ‘Best Mid-Range Miele Vacuum’ pick. Selected Miele Classic C1 Pure Suction PowerLine as ‘Best Budget Miele Vacuum’ and Miele Complete C3 Brilliant PowerLine as ‘Best Miele Vacuum’ pick.

  3. Jan 24, 2023:
    Ensured all main picks still represent the best option for user needs.

  4. Oct 26, 2022:
    Ensured all main picks still represent the best option for user needs and expectations.

  5. Apr 29, 2022:
    Ensured that all main picks are still in line with user needs and expectations.

Conclusion

Miele specializes in manufacturing a wide range of high-end household appliances. Their range of vacuum cleaners mainly focuses on canister models of both the bagged and bagless variety, but they’ve recently branched out into building cordless stick and robot vacuums. Generally, Miele vacuums are pricier than alternatives but offer a wide range of thoughtful quality-of-life features, strong cleaning performance, and premium build quality.

Test results

My Middle-Aged Miele Canister Vacuum Has a Long Life Ahead of It

As a preteen and teenager, my main chore was vacuuming my parents’ house every Saturday morning before I was allowed to enjoy my weekend. This was no small feat—my parents’ house is pretty big, with a steep, narrow set of uncarpeted stairs typical of some very old homes. With two teens, two big dogs, a cat, two adults, and steady foot traffic from our friends stomping all over the house, this meant that, by Saturday, the old, scratched-up wood floors and area rugs were in desperate need of a good cleaning. I’d spend a couple of hours every Saturday morning vacuuming around the dogs, halfheartedly pushing the vacuum around the piano, and dragging the poor canister vac up those narrow stairs step by step.

I didn’t particularly care how good a job the vacuum did at getting dog fur out of the carpet, as long as nobody noticed. Like any other teen, I was distracted by thoughts of parties, books, schoolwork, and clothes, and wanted to get the job done as quickly and painlessly as possible before I could sprint out the door and into whatever trouble I was bound for that day. 

Luckily, my parents had the right tool for the job: a Miele canister vacuum. I had no idea, at 15, how much money my parents had spent on that thing—if I had, I wouldn’t have kicked it, dragged it sideways, and dropped it down a few stairs as often as I did. (Or maybe, depending on the day, I would have been even more aggressive with it!) But the family Miele took it like a champ, and only in the past couple of years did my parents “retire” it to their tiny mountain cabin, where it still, remarkably, works.

The Miele is not a relic left in my past, though. Despite my teenage inattention, as an adult with an aversion to dog hair getting stuck between my toes, it became unpleasantly clear just how much of a difference my parents’ vacuum made. So in 2016, fed up with a terrible 2-year-old upright that couldn’t reliably suck up my dog’s hair in my 600-square-foot Brooklyn apartment, my then-boyfriend (now husband) and I spent $500—which was a decent chunk of our paychecks—on a Miele C2 canister vacuum.

It was reliable where other vacuums crapped out after a couple of years. It eagerly sucked up dust, dirt, dog hair, and whatever else that my cheap upright rolled its eyes at. Five years later, it works as beautifully as it ever did. Though I don’t drive a Subaru and haven’t been able to start a native plant garden in my front yard, I’m proud to carry on my parents’ legacy in this particular domain. 

I’m not even a clean freak—it sometimes takes me several days to put away my freshly laundered clothes, for example—but there’s almost nothing I dislike more than walking on unclean floors.  The Miele canister makes confronting this particular neurosis considerably easier.

The most impressive aspect of the Miele is its sheer force of will: The thing just won’t quit. I’m a millennial who came of age as disposable appliances and furniture became the norm, and I am tragically accustomed to replacing these every couple of years, once they stop working or fall apart. My Miele is on year six, and unlike me, it shows no signs of aging; if I’m lucky, I’ll still be dragging it around in 20 years, just like my parents. 

One of Miele’s first vacuums, the Model L, which the company released in 1931.

Photo: Miele
Photo: Miele

Of course, longevity means little if the product doesn’t work well in the first place. But my Miele does, and it also makes cleaning almost—fun? Or perhaps it’s more accurate to say that because of how simple and easy it is to use my Miele, I’d rather vacuum my 1,000-square-foot apartment (I’ve leveled up!) than complete any other chore.

“You are not alone,” Mary H.J. Farrell, an editor at Consumer Reports who has worked on vacuum-related stories for years, told me when I expressed my Miele devotion to her. Farrell says that, based on CR’s surveys, members love their Mieles.

Miele vacuums also perform very well in our lab testing. Several vacuums in the Miele Complete C3 line are our top canister vacuum picks and perform highly by almost every metric. The Miele Complete C3 Marin has a powerhead, which means it uses a motorized brush that can more deeply clean carpets and rugs—though it also sometimes makes the vacuum more expensive.

My now-discontinued Compact C2 Miele also has a powerhead, and though it scored a bit lower on carpet tests, our testers report that it excels at vacuuming up pet hair (a crucial feature for me, especially this time of year as Gordo blows his coat in preparation for summer), maintains a strong suction through various tools, and picks up dust and dirt gently and effectively on bare floors.

“We do like that the Miele canisters are quiet compared to other vacuums,” says Sue Booth, a project leader at Consumer Reports who tests vacuums. “They also have variable motor speeds to control the suction.” Miele canister vacs received Excellent scores for both reliability and owner satisfaction in CR’s member survey. Consumer Reports readers even love their less reliable Miele uprights, according to Farrell, who wrote about Miele users’ intense brand loyalty in 2017. Even when people had issues with their Miele, they still reported satisfaction. Miele fanatics like me are legion: We understand the passion one can feel for a product that to the uninitiated may seem unexciting, and we are often unabashed in sharing that passion with our friends, family, and even strangers on the street.

In terms of maintenance, my Miele C2 requires little more than a bag and filter change every month or two, and I have never had to take it to my neighborhood vacuum repair shop. I do need to regularly purchase new bags for it. My dad occasionally skirted this requirement by emptying out the vacuum bags and reusing them (my dad’s response: “I do not do that anymore!!!!!”). Booth says this isn’t advisable. Reusing bags “will most likely decrease the performance—even though it may still seemingly work—because the porous part of the bag could get clogged,” she says. “Any bacteria or pet dander that may coat the inside of the bag is also likely to remain in the bag. Also, we recommend using bagged machines if you have any allergies, so emptying out a bag in the trash could defeat this purpose if breathing the particulates could pose a problem.” Noted: My husband’s allergies can be terrible, and one of the most beloved aspects of my Miele is that it helps keep a lid on his sneeze attacks. 

So it’s not an overstatement to say that my Miele is nothing short of a life-changer. It has made dog ownership less disgusting, city living less toxic, and my husband’s allergies less of a pain. It may even literally be improving my mental health. It cost almost as much as my iPhone, but it has improved my life far beyond what my personal surveillance box ever could. And it’s far more discreet: My Miele knows where my dirt is, but it will never, ever, tell.


Angela Lashbrook

I believe shopping should be fun, safe, and sustainable, and I shape my coverage at Consumer Reports around how consumers of all ages can have better shopping experiences. I’ve worked in media for seven years, and my diverse time in the industry has taught me that quality service journalism is a critical resource. When I’m not working, I’m usually reading, cooking (or, more likely, eating), and hanging out with my dog, a Libra named Gordo.

Miele vacuum cleaners – Huge selection at the best prices

844 results.

Choosing the Best Miele Vacuum Cleaners to Clean Up Your Life

Getting a good vacuum cleaner is an important part of making sure that your home remains spotless, so investing in a good one is key. Miele is known for making top-of-the-line vacuums, so considering them for purchase makes sense. If you’re considering buying a Miele vacuum on eBay, the following tips can help you make your decision.

The types of Miele vacuum cleaners available

You have several options available to you if you’re planning on buying a new or used Miele vacuum cleaner on eBay.

  • Canister vacuums: Available in compact or full size, the Miele canister type of vacuum cleaner has a cleaning nozzle attached to the end of a wand, and it connects to the vacuum with a hose. It has the engine, dust bags, and filters all in one space. To use it, you pull the canister around via its wheels.
  • Mini-stick vacuum cleaner: This unit is light and easy to carry from room to room.
  • Miele vacuum cleaners upright: These full-sized machines are ideal for carpeted rooms that get lots of heavy traffic.
  • Bagless canister vacuum: This unit is ideal for small, quick jobs, and it’s easy to empty.
  • Robot: This hands-free option works on any floor and is ideal for busy people who don’t always have time to clean.

Benefits of the Swing h2 Quickstep

The Swing h2 Quickstep is one of two upright models available from Miele. It has a small broom with a very powerful motor, and it comes with a hard floor and rug brush. You can purchase extra carpet and accessory tools if you need them, but this model works best if you live in a small home or apartments or you need the vacuum for a quick clean-up.

Which brush tools work best with hard floors and which work best with carpeting?

When purchasing your Miele vacuum on eBay, you can choose the brush tool that works best with the type of flooring that you have. Some affordable brush options include the following:

  • Turbo Brush (205): This brush is great for short pile carpet, area rugs, or looped rugs
  • Power Brush (228 and 236): This brush works with thick, plush carpet with high pile, and it also works with pet hair (236 model comes with a bumper and headlight)
  • Rug and Floor Tool: This brush is for high-end area rugs and hard floors.

Are there other tools available for purchase with Miele vacuums?

When buying your Miele vacuum, you can also purchase other items that help provide a full cleaning experience. Some of those items include bendable crevice tools, window blind brushes, and radiator brushes. Your Miele vacuum comes with parts that can help you clean more than just your rugs and floors.

Content provided for informational purposes only. eBay is not affiliated with or endorsed by Miele.

Hot tours | error 404

PRIVACY POLICY AGREEMENT

1. General provisions

1.1. The Privacy Policy Agreement (hereinafter referred to as the Agreement) refers to the website of Hot Tours JSC, located at www.hott.ru.

1.2. The site www.hott.ru (hereinafter referred to as the Site) is the property of Hot Tours JSC (hereinafter referred to as the Site Administration).

1.3. This Agreement governs the relationship between the Site Administration and the User/s of this Site.

1.4. The site administration reserves the right to change, add or remove clauses of this Agreement at any time without prior notice to the User.

1.5. Continued use of the Site by the User means acceptance of the Agreements and changes made to this Agreement.

1.6. The User is personally responsible for checking this Agreement for changes in it.

2. Subject of the agreement

2.1.1 The confidentiality regime applies to all the information that the Site Administration receives about the User during his stay on the Site and which, in principle, can be unambiguously correlated with this particular User.

3. Receipt, use and disclosure of confidential information

3.1 The Site Administration may receive confidential information about the User when the User registers on the Site or uses the Site’s services. This data may include, among other things, the name, surname and patronymic of the User and other persons indicated by him, passport data, contact data in the form of a telephone number, email address, and physical address of residence, registration and contact data of the legal entity represented by the user, as well as a number of others.

3.2 The Site also automatically collects a number of technical data, including IP address, cookies, browser history, etc.

3.3 Email addresses obtained through the Site may be used to send messages to users, incl. and mailings. Users of the Site can always unsubscribe from receiving such mailings in the future.

3.4 The site administration does not sell or transfer confidential information about Users to anyone. The site administration can transfer confidential information to third parties only in cases where it is necessary to provide services for booking a tourist product – air tickets, hotel rooms and package tours, etc.

4. Security of personal data

4.1 Access to confidential information provided by the User to the Site Administration through the Site or to the User’s personal settings on the Site is password protected.

5. Changes and Miscellaneous

5.1 The Site Administration may make changes to this Agreement unilaterally, incl. and without prior notice to Users. All changes are displayed on the Site.

5.2 This Agreement is a public offer. By accessing the Site, the User is considered to have acceded to this Agreement.

5.3 Issues not resolved in this Agreement are regulated in accordance with the legislation of the Russian Federation.

Payment is made by bank cards through JSC QIWI Bank of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation No. 2241

VISA, MasterCard, MIR cards are accepted for payment

IR).
All the necessary data is on the card itself, the CCV security code is the three digits that are on the back of the card.

After that, you will be directed to the page of your bank to enter the security code that you will receive via SMS. If the code does not come, you should contact the bank where the card was issued.

When paying for an order with a bank card, payment processing (including entering the card number)
takes place on a secure page of the processing system, which has passed international certification.